32 Following


Currently reading

The Beauty of the End
Debbie Howells

from FictionZeal.com re: A Fine Summer's Day (Inspector Ian Rutledge) by Charles Todd

A Fine Summer's Day - Charles Todd

A historical look at our protagonist, it is June 1914, and at that time in his life he was young and very much in love with Jean Gordon. He couldn’t understand why his close friend, Melinda Crawford, and his sister, Frances, seemed to distrust Jean so. The war was looming ahead and he knew he’d have to go even as Jean was encouraging him to enlist. But, at this time, he still had his work with Scotland Yard and crime didn’t take a break for anyone. There are multiple murders, seemingly unrelated. Rutledge needs to travel to several locations within England to try to get to the bottom of it all. The first of these deaths was that of a man who they initially thought hung himself.

After reading ‘Looking Back’; An Essay from the Authors’ in the back of the book, I realize A Fine Summer’s Day is actually a nice place to jump in. And so, this is the first book I’ve read in the series. Each book can be read as a stand-alone, but this book actually takes the reader back before The Great War (WWI) and before Ian Rutledge returned home as a veteran. A Test of Wills was the first book in the series and started in June 1919 upon his return to Scotland Yard. The authors are a mother / son team who has composed 16 other Inspector Rutledge books prior to this one. The novels span from June 1919 to August 1920. This story’s pacing was at a moderate pace and the suspense was high. The author does well with keeping the historical aspect of the novel intact. It’s a nice look back at this time in history as well as a look back into the past of a character who is loved by so many. Rating: 3.5 out of 5.